MonoGram Early Career Excellence Awards

Nominations are invited for the 6th annual MonoGram Early Career Excellence Award (MECEA) to be awarded at the 2018 MonoGram meeting hosted by John Innes Centre in Norwich.

There are two MECEA categories:

  1. PhD students (PhD not yet awarded)
  2. Early career post-doctoral scientists (up to 5 year’s post-PhD graduation)

These two awards seek to recognize outstanding young scientists and researchers in the field of small grain cereal and grass research in the UK. The excellence award will consider research contributions in both basic and more applied disciplines, as well as contributions of excellence to scientific outreach and promotion activities.

Eligibility: We encourage UK-based academic and industrial applicants across the two award categories:

  • PhD students (PhD not yet awarded)
  • Early career post-docs (up to 5 year's post PhD graduation).

Nominations: Applicants should submit a self-nomination with three components:

  1. A one page (A4, 11 Arial font, 2 cm margin, including any figures) article (suitable for subsequent publication as a MonoGram blog) describing a specific piece of their work and/or broader contribution to the community. This should communicate the applicants work as well as its importance, relevance and wider context.
  2. A supporting statement from the PI (or a senior colleague) of no more than 300 words.
  3. A 2-page CV listing key achievements.

Criteria: The Monogram Steering Group will judge the applications based on the originality, excellence, and the contribution of the applicant and their work to the small grain cereal and grass research community.

Prize: The award winner will receive a £300 cash prize and will have the opportunity to present their work at the 2018 Monogram meeting taking place at JIC, Norwich from 24-26th April, 2018 (“Monogram Early Career Excellence Award” lecture).

All documents (1-page article, CV, and PI supporting statement) should be combined as a single PDF file and emailed to the moderators ( by February 28th, 2018.

Previous Years' Shortlists